Daddy Issues: Introduction

One of my biggest dreams as a child was to be a daddy’s girl. Even as a teenager, I still thrived to be, I was just good at hiding it. I was let down time and time again and was never able to measure up-in my eyes at least. Not feeling good enough, wondering what was wrong with me, unlovable, unwanted and low self-esteem were labels I secretly put on myself. On the outside, my rebellious act outs, the way I allowed people to treat me, the way I treated those who were closest to me, and the way I numbed myself to feeling anything at all were ways I was trying to get help (maybe?) but just either didn’t know how to ask or didn’t want to admit I wanted/needed it.

For the next thirty days i’m going to be sharing a little bit of my life story. How growing up wanting to be a daddy’s girl didn’t work out the way I had planned it, but how God stepped in and showed my that I was, indeed, a daddy’s girl all along. My story is far from over but, there is a lot of stuff that i’ve experienced in the twenty-three years God has so blessed me with.

 

Dear Lord, over the next thirty days I pray that my story shows the greatness of Your Glory. I hope that girls who have struggled with the same or similar issues as me find the same comfort, reassurance, and worth in You that I found. In Your name I pray, Amen!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

