Looking For Him in the Stands

Looking For Him in the Stands

To have had both of my parents standing next to me that night meant the absolute world to me!.png

Starting in seventh grade, I played volleyball, basketball and softball. I only played basketball the two years in middle school. I played softball eighth grade through tenth and I played volleyball all the way to my senior year.

After my parents got divorced, my dad stopped coming around all together (for the most part). He did come to my first birthday party after they split up. But after that, it was a shocker if he actually showed up.

He always had schedules for everything and was never unwelcome when he did come. I think a lot of it had to do with his girlfriend not wanting him to spend a lot of time with us. She had two kids of her own and stated numerous times she wasn’t in the business of raising anymore-even though she would’ve never raised us, nor would she have had to. Mom was perfectly fit and capable of doing the raising business.

I, honestly, wouldn’t have cared if his girlfriend had come to some things just so he would come. There just wasn’t a lot of trust between them, because when you run around on your spouses to be with each other, why would there be trust? So I guess if she couldn’t come or just simply didn’t want to, he couldn’t come either.

I always spent so much time looking for him in the stands. I didn’t really know it was as noticeable as it was, but mom later pointed it out to me. It wasn’t as if I was necessarily expecting him to be there, I was just really hoping he would be.

My senior night for volleyball, guess who was there?? Him! I was so shocked that I was in tears. He didn’t stay the whole game, and was on his phone most of the game, but I was able to to get my picture taken with him and my mom and he was able to stand beside me as they called my name.

It doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, especially to those who have always had their dad around, but to have both of my parents stand next to me that night meant the absolute world to me! I will never forget that moment and the way it made me feel.

 

Dear Lord, I pray that I don’t take seemingly small things for granted-things that I expect or things that I deem should-be’s. Everybody’s normal is a little different, but we are one in You. I pray for these young girls who, like me, have daddy issues and are looking for him in the stands. I pray that instead of us looking to our earthly father to define us, that we find ourselves in You. All we need is You, Lord. Help us not to waste time chasing after earthly things that will NEVER fill us up quite like the way You do! In Your name I pray, Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

