Turbyville

Turbyville

The basics of.png

Went to Myrtle Beach for the weekend with some people. Started drinking as soon as we got there. The people I were with were nothing but drama. This girl was sleeping with this girl’s man-all sorts of crazy messed up stuff. Too much for us all to be under one roof of a two bedroom apartment. There must have easily been ten of us!

The first night, we actually kept it pretty laid back and got some sleep. The next day we hung out by the pool, played some games, smoked some weed, and drank ALL day! We drank ourselves right on through the night. No one got any sleep. There was some fighting going on. Don’t really remember that much of it except the couple that rode with me were getting into it pretty bad and I was about to leave him. He was being such a jerk that I didn’t even want him in my car.

I ended up agreeing that he could ride back with us but that I wasn’t dealing with his crap. So we hit the road. To my misfortune, the GPS took us home through Turbyville.

On the way home we had been drinking. (Yes, I was drinking and driving). We had just stopped at a gas station to use the restroom and fill up on gas. Luckily, we also threw away all of our empty beer bottles and the box they came in.

Not even a mile up the road, the speed limit changed from 55 to 35 (or 45 to 35 I can’t remember). A cop was waiting and pulled me over. When he got to my window and asked for my license and registration, he could smell the beer on our breaths and said, “I smell alcohol. I’m going to have to ask you to step out of the car.” HOLY SNIKES. Talk about scared. The cop asked to search my car and I obliged. He found somebody else’s ID and some unmarked pills in one girls bag, but they didn’t find the weed stash. The guys I were with were being jerks so the cops roughed them up some. All five of us in the car got patted down and searched. And because I was driving, and he smelled alcohol, I had to take a breathalyzer.

Scared was a understatment. I was shaking I was so scared. I blew a .08 or something like that-under the legal limit but because I was not 21, I couldn’t drive my car anymore. I just remember one of the dudes dabbing me up because I passed the breathalyzer and just being utterly disgusted by his ignorance.  The cops said I could either call somebody to come drive my car or they could tow it. Definitely didn’t want to have to call my mom and tell her she needed to come get me from Turbyville cause I had been drinking and driving and couldn’t drive my car anymore. So, oddly enough, one of the guys that was with us was actually from that town and called somebody to come get us. We contemplated on just waiting until the cop left and just driving off but they were circling us. The guy ended up driving my car up the road a few miles and then I got back in and drove us the rest of the way home.

Back then, I blamed it on luck. But that was no luck. That was the hand of God. His grace saved me that day. By His grace I didn’t get arrested or go to jail or wreck and kill somebody. It’s ironic how, during a particular season, you don’t always see God at work. But, looking back once you’ve gone through it, you definitely see His work!

 

Dear Lord, I’m so thankful for Your watchfulness over me-especially when I least deserve it. I don’t deserve Your mercy, but I’m thankful you deemed me worthy. I’m thankful You chose me. I’m thankful that, even though You didn’t have to, You chose to send Your One and only Son to die for my sins. How undeserving I am of that sacrifice. But, because I was bought at a price, help me better Your kingdom and surrender myself completely to You. Help me to love You with all of my heart, all of my soul, and all of my mind! In Your name I pray, Amen!

One thought on “Turbyville

  1. I am so proud of you, Steph. You have truly learned what it means to receive God’s grace. Your self-examination, personal insight, & spiritual growth at such a youthful stage of your life leaves me in awe! I adored the babygirl you were but I love, admire & respect the young adult & mother you have become. ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

