Amazing Grace

Amazing Grace

amazing-grace

(Sorry! I slacked the last two days of my #Write31Days Challenge. So here is 1 of 2 to complete my series, “Daddy Issues”.)

Amazing grace how sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me.

Oh how thankful I am for grace. As you can see, by reading through my life story, I am most definitely a wretch. I’ve done things that were unqualified for forgiveness. Yet, by the grace of God and the blood shed on the cross by Jesus, I have been forgive. Amen! That’s the very definition of grace-the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings (Google Dictionary).

I once was lost but now I’m found.

Was blind but now I see

I used to be so far away from Jesus, but Jesus was never far away from me. When I didn’t know Jesus I did have this sense of being lost. Nothing made sense (and it still doesn’t some times) in this world, but Jesus has overcome the world (John 16:33). I don’t have to be consumed with earthly things. I can put my hope in Jesus and know that, no matter what, He’s got this. He’s had a plan since even before the beginning.

One of my favorite authors, Lysa Terkuert, in her book “Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely”(by the way, this is an awesome book and is most definitely a MUST READ!) said, “God is good. God is good to me. God is good at being God.” I need to let God be God and I just need to submit to His plans! (Most easier said than done-but it’s a daily decision).

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear

And grace my fears relieved.

How precious did that grace appear

The hour I first believed.

Without God’s grace, we wouldn’t even know that we needed saving. Our natural tendency is to live for ourselves and our own sinful desires. And that’s what I was doing. I wasn’t living for God. I wasn’t falling head over heels in love with Jesus day after day. But, even though I was turned away from Him, He pursued me everyday. Day in and day out and He never gave up on me. Eventually my heart was softened and I gave over the reins of my life to Him (even though, technically, they were His all along-I just quit getting in the way!). There is something so sweet about accepting Jesus into your life and feeling all that weight of shame, guilt, hurt, pain, you name it just being lifted up off of your shoulders and Jesus carrying that burden for you. It is unexplainable. It is GRACE!

When we’ve been there ten thousand years

Bright shining as the sun

We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise

Then when we first begun.

After ten thousand, or ten million, or ten trillion years, we are no closer to the end of eternity because there is no “end.” Eternity is a hard concept to grasp but it’s so encouraging knowing all of those terrible things I did or those awful things I thought and all of the mistakes I made cannot separate me from God and His grace. And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels or demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries for tomorrow-not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below-indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 8:38-39). It’s hard to even fathom a love like that-so unconditional and powerful. But, I am oh so thankful that God loves me that much.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound

That saved a wretch like me.

I once was lost, but now I’m found.

Was blind, but now I see

Having an earthly father who wasn’t worth a poo most of the time really gave me a blurred perspective on my heavenly Father. For the longest time, I distanced myself from God because I was too afraid if I let Him in, He’d let me down like everybody else. But that’s not the kind of God He is. My God is never changing and His promises are forever true (Deuteronomy 7:9). Accepting Jesus Christ as my Lord and my Savior was the best decision of my life. No, things didn’t automatically change. But God has constantly been at work on and through me.

Oh Heavenly Father how very thankful I am that You are an unchanging God and that Your mercies are new each morning. I’m so underserving of Your love and grace but am beyond blessed that You give them to me anyways! I pray that if anybody who is reading this post doesn’t believe in You that my life can be a testimony to the fact of how magnificent You are. I pray that they would seek You out and get to know You and accept You as their Lord and Savior. You are such an awesome God! Thank you, Lord, for loving me and not expecting anything in return. I pray that I just lean into you  more and more everyday! In Your name I pray, Amen! 

Leave a Reply

